Turkey bolognese

Turkey Bolognese

Turkey Bolognese

I have been cooking different variations of turkey mince spaghetti for as long as I can remember and they were all good, but this is the best of the best I’ve ever made. Perhaps it’s the grocery-bought tomato sauce with red wine, or the mix of fresh herbs, or the grated carrots, or the red wine vinegar. Whatever it is that made the difference, I’m sticking to the recipe and I’m sharing it with you!

Turkey Bolognese

Turkey mince is a healthy alternative to beef or pork, and tastes as good, if not better. The addition of grated carrots makes it much healthier and cost-effective, thus more bang for the buck.

Turkey Bolognese

This sauce is so good that topping it with your favorite cheese is optional. The beau usually covers his pasta with parmesan but not this time. He finished two servings, all the while ignoring the bowl of grated cheese in front of him.

Turkey Bolognese

By the way, the most difficult part to master in food photography-blogging is choosing which photo to post. The best tip came from Portland photographer David L. Reamer. He advised me not to shoot a lot. I tried to but often times I just couldn’t help it. So please bear with me, until I master the art of choosing only the best photograph to post on the blog.

Turkey Bolognese

Turkey bolognese

Ingredients

  • 400g turkey mince
  • 525g pasta sauce (I used Heinz [Seriously] Good Pasta Sauce with tomato and red wine)
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 small onions, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 carrots, grated
  • 2 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 1 tbsp worcestershire sauce
  • 1 cup of water
  • 1/2 cup pitted black olives, sliced
  • handful of fresh herbs, chopped (I used mint, thyme, parsley and sage leaves)
  • a pinch or two of sugar
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • parmesan (optional)
  • slices of toasted garlic bread (a must!)

Method

  1. Heat the oil in a deep pan over medium heat.
  2. Sauté the onion and garlic until translucent, about 5 minutes.
  3. Add the turkey and cook for 5 minutes or until browned.
  4. Add red wine vinegar and simmer over medium low heat until sauce is reduced.
  5. Add the worcestershire sauce, carrots, olives and pasta sauce.
  6. Simmer gently for 15-20 minutes, stirring often.
  7. Add water gradually if the sauce is too thick for your taste.
  8. Stir in the herbs and season the sauce with sugar, salt and pepper. Simmer for another 5 minutes.
  9. Serve over cooked pasta of your choice. Top with grated or shaved parmesan (if using).
  10. Waste nothing by wiping your plate off with toasted garlic bread.

Serves 6.

About Dolly Rubiano

I am passionate about photography and food is my favourite subject. I like shooting people too, especially when they’re not looking. I am a regular contributor as photographer to FishHead magazine, a local lifestyle magazine in Wellington, New Zealand. I blog about my experiments in the kitchen and don't cook anything that has four legs. Please get in touch if you would like to work with me regarding food styling and photography. View all posts by Dolly Rubiano

6 responses to “Turkey bolognese

Leave a Reply

