Date cake with ginger wine and coconut sauce

Date cake with ginger wine and coconut sauce

Every time I browse through Donna Hay magazines, I get awestruck. The photos are fantastic, the slow-animation effects on their iPad app are out of-this-world amazing. But what about the recipes, are they as good as they appear to be? Actually, I haven’t tried one until now.

The photo of a Bundt cake with caramel sauce dripping all over it made me drool. If you want to check it out, go find the Donna Hay Apr/May 2012 issue. But it was Seana’s Mexican chocolate pound  cake that inspired me to hunt for a Bundt pan. Oops, wait a minute. First, caramel sauce. Then, spiced chocolate cake. The master baker boyfriend would have none of that. There are certain things he just couldn’t take, as I learned over time. So I settled for the date cake and also found a boozed coconut sauce recipe.

Now I can bake and shoot.

Date cake with ginger wine and coconut sauce

Date cake with ginger wine and coconut sauce

When I asked the master baker boyfriend if he liked it, he replied apologetically, “I can’t stop eating it!”

It is that sinful!

Adapted from Donna Hay’s rum and date cake with caramel sauce:
Date cake with ginger wine and coconut sauce

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups (210g) dates, chopped
  • 1/2 cup (90g) prunes, chopped
  • 1/2 cup (75g) raisins
  • 3/4 cup (180ml) boiling water
  • 1/2 cup (125ml) ginger wine (the original recipe calls for rum, I used Stones Original Green Ginger Wine)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda, sifted
  • 1 1/2 cups (225g) self-raising flour, sifted
  • 1 1/3 cups (235g) brown sugar (I used 1 cup)
  • 225g butter, melted
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 6 eggs

Coconut and ginger wine sauce

  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 2 tablespoons white sugar
  • 2 tablespoons ginger wine
  • a pinch of salt

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 160C (325F).
  2. Place the dates, prunes, raisins, boiling water, ginger wine and baking soda in a bowl and set aside for 10 minutes.
  3. Using a hand-held electric mixer, blend the date mixture until smooth. Set aside.
  4. Place the flour and sugar in a bowl and mix to combine.
  5. Add the butter, vanilla, eggs and date mixture and mix well to combine.
  6. Spoon into a well-greased 3.5 litre Bundt tin and bake for 55 minutes or until cooked when tested with a skewer.
  7. Allow to cool in tin for 10 minutes before turning onto a wire rack to cool completely.
  8. To make the coconut sauce, combine all the ingredients in a small saucepan. Bring to a simmer and cook, stirring frequently, reduced and thickened.
  9. Allow sauce to cool for 10 minutes before pouring over the cake to serve.

Serves 8-10

About Dolly Rubiano

I am passionate about photography and food is my favourite subject. I like shooting people too, especially when they’re not looking. I am a regular contributor as photographer to FishHead magazine, a local lifestyle magazine in Wellington, New Zealand. I blog about my experiments in the kitchen and don't cook anything that has four legs. Please get in touch if you would like to work with me regarding food styling and photography. View all posts by Dolly Rubiano

4 responses to “Date cake with ginger wine and coconut sauce

Leave a Reply

