Simple joy #10 Oven-grilled fish heads

Oven-grilled fish head

Oven-grilled fish head

I was in Portland three months ago and got involved in photographer David L. Reamer’s Catching The Ox project. We had ‘fish heads’ as our subject. I shot the fish heads but a friend cooked it. Over the past few weeks I  have been cooking several fish heads and fish frames, courtesy of the wonderful people behind http://www.freefishheads.co.nz. I got a call one day to pick up around 10 kilos of snapper fish heads from Martin Bosley’s Restaurant. The restaurant only wanted the fillets and the fishermen would rather give away the fish heads and frames instead of discarding them. Which works perfectly well for fish head eaters like myself! Yay!

Oven-grilled fish head

I was originally intending to make fish stock by boiling the fish frames in water, salt, pepper and ginger. It surprisingly turned out so good that there was nothing else that needed to be done. A wonderful soup was made!

The fish heads were another story. I had six. Heads almost as big as mine. My freezer was full of them. JD and I had fish heads for lunch one day, for dinner the next and finally for lunch today. I grilled the last two in the oven. Rubbed with salt and pepper, a dollop of butter and juice of half a lemon, I put them in the oven set to grill for 20 minutes at 200C. No remaining flesh from the fish heads was spared. I even ate one of the eyes!

Oven-grilled fish head

About Dolly Rubiano

I am passionate about photography and food is my favourite subject. I like shooting people too, especially when they’re not looking. I am a regular contributor as photographer to FishHead magazine, a local lifestyle magazine in Wellington, New Zealand. I blog about my experiments in the kitchen and don't cook anything that has four legs. Please get in touch if you would like to work with me regarding food styling and photography. View all posts by Dolly Rubiano

6 responses to “Simple joy #10 Oven-grilled fish heads

Leave a Reply

