Gooey eggplant lasagna with chickpea polenta

Gooey eggplant lasagna with chickpea polenta

Following last week’s survival kit disaster, I found a good use for one of the rusty cans of chickpeas. If you’ve been following my blog back from the time I made a scandalous confession, you know that I drool over Katie Quinn Davies‘ food photography. I also drool over her recipes. She is a rockstar both as a food photographer and as a recipe developer.

Katie’s Meat-free lasagne with polenta, chargrilled veggies and feta called for, yes, polenta. It was interesting to add polenta in a lasagna recipe. I had to try it! But I didn’t have polenta. My rusty can of chickpeas to the rescue! Did you know that before corn was ‘discovered’, polenta was made with starchy ingredients like, yes, chickpeas?

I have a hazy recollection of what polenta tastes like, but the chickpea polenta I made was fabulous. Since I had a long busy day, I had to make it one evening and chill it in the fridge and bake the lasagna the next morning. But it was definitely worth the wait. You can find the link to the recipe down below.

Gooey eggplant lasagna with chickpea polenta

Gooey eggplant lasagna with chickpea polenta

Gooey eggplant lasagna with chickpea polenta ~ Recipe here

About Dolly Rubiano

I am passionate about photography and food is my favourite subject. I like shooting people too, especially when they’re not looking. I am a regular contributor as photographer to FishHead magazine, a local lifestyle magazine in Wellington, New Zealand. I blog about my experiments in the kitchen and don't cook anything that has four legs. Please get in touch if you would like to work with me regarding food styling and photography. View all posts by Dolly Rubiano

2 responses to “Gooey eggplant lasagna with chickpea polenta

Leave a Reply

