What to do with chicken flakes

Miso fried rice with chicken flakes

Canon 600D, ISO 100, 0.3 sec, f/4, 50mm lens

HELLO! I have been out of action for a wee while. I’m still cooking and still shooting, but haven’t been posting and dropping a note or two to fellow bloggers out there. I have been busy with work, photo shoots and getting ready for my upcoming vacation to the U.S. of A to visit my beloved BF. After some hiccups, I managed to get 2 months off work starting this August. 8 weeks! I can blog everyday!

At the tail-end of my vacation, I will attend the 3-day International Food Blogger Conference 2013 in Seattle, WA (home to my blogger friend CottageGroveHouse.com) I am looking forward to Andrew Scrivani‘s food photography session. That will be the highlight for me, and also meeting food bloggers in person whose photography I adore (Savory SimpleDamn Delicious).

But what has this got to do with chicken flakes?

As I mentioned, I am still cooking and shooting. These two dishes I’m posting after my brief hiatus have one thing in common – chicken flakes. I JUST love chicken. I was a vegetarian in my past life. But only for 3 years. I gave it up so I could continue to eat chicken adobo, chicken relleno, chicken afritada, chicken tinola and chicken arroz caldo, to name a few of my favourite Filipino dishes.

I experimented with two different ways of making chicken flakes, one by roasting marinated chicken drumsticks for 2 hours and another by slow-cooking chicken drumsticks in a crock pot for 8 hours. Either way, the flesh came off the bones so easily!

Miso fried rice with chicken flakes

Canon 600D, ISO 100, 1/4 sec, f/4, 50mm lens

Miso fried rice with chicken flakes ~ Recipe here

 

Lentil with spinach and chicken flakes

Canon 600D, ISO 100, 1.6 sec, f/8, 50mm lens

This lentil soup is my easy version of a Filipino dish called Ginisang Munggo (Mung bean soup). This is another comfort food I crave for. I realized only recently that lentil is the perfect easy substitute for mung beans. Did I say easy? Because I don’t need to soak it overnight when I can buy it canned and ready to eat!

I could have used kawakawa as substitute for chili leaves. But spinach will do. I bought them cheap from the farmers market.

Lentil with spinach and chicken flakes

Canon 600D, ISO 100, 1/5 sec, f/2.8, 50mm lens

Lentil soup with spinach and chicken flakes ~ Recipe here

About Dolly Rubiano

I am passionate about photography and food is my favourite subject. I like shooting people too, especially when they’re not looking. I am a regular contributor as photographer to FishHead magazine, a local lifestyle magazine in Wellington, New Zealand. I blog about my experiments in the kitchen and don't cook anything that has four legs. Please get in touch if you would like to work with me regarding food styling and photography. View all posts by Dolly Rubiano

9 responses to “What to do with chicken flakes

  • tinywhitecottage

    Hi there. So nice to see a post from you! Wonderful chicken recipes. Lentil soup looks so comforting to me! Two months offf? The thought of that must feel so nice. 🙂 Looking forward to ifbc….

    • Dolly Rubiano

      Hi Seana! I looked for your name in the list of attendees but I didn’t find it. I thought you weren’t coming. Will be so happy if you are!

    • Lady Betty

      Miss Dolly…Your photos are wonderful…the heat and aroma rising from the first photo and the lush dark palette of your final one. Oh, my goodness, you have made me so hungry for my favorite Filipino chicken dishes; adobo and tinola! See you soon! Lady Mom Betty

  • Welcome Company with Danielle

    Gorgeous photos – love the steam rising on the first one! I’m so happy for you that you’re not a vegetarian anymore. 😉 Enjoy your 8 weeks off. I’m looking forward to seeing what you post.

  • Irina @ wandercrush

    Are you visiting anywhere aside from Seattle during your trip? The blogging conference sounds so interesting! I guess I’m still relatively new to the food blogosphere, so it’s all extremely foreign to me. Can’t wait to hear about it 🙂 These chicken recipes look so homey and comforting.

  • laurasmess

    This looks wonderful Dolly. So nourishing, warm and delicious! So glad that you get some proper time off to visit your boyfriend. Must be so difficult living so far away!! Have fun during your eight weeks. Wishing you safe travels (so jealous that you get to meet those wonderful bloggers.. yay!) xx

    • Dolly Rubiano

      Hi Laura, I’m looking forward to meet you in person when there is an opportunity for a bloggers’ conference/meet up in Australia. So many talented food bloggers and photographers over there, including you!

Leave a Reply

