“Clean-out-the-fridge” challenge

Creamy squash soup, leeks and broccoli pie

Canon G11, ISO 200, 1/10 sec, f/4

A COUPLE OF WEEKS AGO, I challenged Seana from Cottage Grove House and Sandra from Please Pass The Recipe to come up with a recipe based on left-overs and anything we could find in the fridge that need to be thrown out soon. We called this “Clean-out-the-fridge challenge”. I like to avoid the term “cook off challenge” because it would make it a competition which it is not. This is mainly a fun way to share recipes based on a theme. I picked up a lot of tips from Sandra’s blog because she’s a master in the kitchen and Seana always uses the freshest ingredients that makes me jealous! Well, this time we used almost stale ingredients so check out their blogs to see what they have come up with.

Creamy squash soup, leeks and broccoli pie

Canon G11, ISO 200, 1/8 sec, f/4

For my recipe, I used weeks-old broccoli, leeks, juice from zested orange, left-over squash soup from a couple of days ago, half-used cream, aged cheddar and pastry with the label “best before 30 March 2013” (2 days ago!) I call it “Creamy squash, broccoli and leeks pie”. I should have added some flour to make it less soupy but I am a purist and only used ingredients from the fridge =) The dish came out nicely, thank goodness!

Creamy squash soup, leeks and broccoli pie

Canon G11, ISO 200, 1/8 sec, f/4

Creamy squash soup, leeks and broccoli pie

Canon G11, ISO 200, 1/8 sec, f/4

Creamy squash soup, leeks and broccoli pie

Canon G11, ISO 200, 1/8 sec, f/4

Creamy squash soup, leeks and broccoli pie

Canon G11, ISO 200, 1/10 sec, f/4

Creamy squash soup, leeks and broccoli pie

Canon G11, ISO 200, 1/10 sec, f/4

I roasted the tomatoes while preparing the other ingredients but ended up not using them. The dish was tasty enough without the tomatoes so I’m saving them up for another recipe. Does it mean another week in the fridge? Hmmm …

Creamy squash, broccoli and leeks pie ~ Recipe here

 

About Dolly Rubiano

I am passionate about photography and food is my favourite subject. I like shooting people too, especially when they’re not looking. I am a regular contributor as photographer to FishHead magazine, a local lifestyle magazine in Wellington, New Zealand. I blog about my experiments in the kitchen and don't cook anything that has four legs. Please get in touch if you would like to work with me regarding food styling and photography. View all posts by Dolly Rubiano

13 responses to ““Clean-out-the-fridge” challenge

Leave a Reply

