Minted pea custard with kawakawa

Pea custard with Kawakawa

Canon G11, ISO 400, 1/50 sec, f/4.5

KAWAKAWA is my new best friend in the kitchen. After the discovery of this super plant in my garden, I have been experimenting with kawakawa. I mix it with anything I cook, bake or drink. I also challenged a fellow food blogger from the opposite side of the world (Seattle WA), lovely Seana of CottageGroveHouse.com, to a ‘cook-off’. Well, it’s not really a cook-off since we’re not competing at all. We wanted to present two dishes using the same main ingredient – PEAS, where she would use mint while I would use kawakawa.

This is also a chance to try award-winning chef Marc Soper’s minted pea custard recipe which he shared with the readers of FishHead magazine in the April 2013 issue.

Chef Marc Soper's Minted pea custard

Canon 600D, ISO 400, 1/100 sec, f/4, 24-70mm

I didn’t get to taste Chef Marc’s minted pea custard because it was sitting next to a four-legged animal (famous NZ lamb from Pirinoa Station). Anyways, it looks great and the recipe is easy to follow. I didn’t follow it to the letter, though. I missed the ‘blend until smooth’ part and ended up with a texturized version with a kawakawa kick.

Minted pea custard with Kawakawa

Canon G11, ISO 400, 1/100 sec, f/3.5

I shared the custard with my ‘driving supervisor’ and friend Louise and she liked it! Unbeknownst to her, I had eaten a plateful before our practice drive and I was feeling a little ‘heady’. It might just be psychological or coincidental. But kawakawa and I have a long way to go in this adventurous culinary journey.

Once you’re done here, please check out the minted pea recipe Seana has come up with at the Cottage Grove House.

Adapted from Wellington Chef Marc Soper’s Minted pea custard recipe: Minted pea custard with Kawakawa ~ Recipe here

 

About Dolly Rubiano

I am passionate about photography and food is my favourite subject. I like shooting people too, especially when they’re not looking. I am a regular contributor as photographer to FishHead magazine, a local lifestyle magazine in Wellington, New Zealand. I blog about my experiments in the kitchen and don't cook anything that has four legs. Please get in touch if you would like to work with me regarding food styling and photography. View all posts by Dolly Rubiano

7 responses to “Minted pea custard with kawakawa

  • tinywhitecottage

    Fabulous Dolly! I have never cooked custard before and now I think I must. Your post is wonderful. I am still so intrigued by kawakawa leaves. This was very fun! Thank you!

  • ladyredspecs

    I’m intrigued about kawakawa. Could you tell me about it. It’s flavour profile, how it grows……… It an unknown on the other side of the Tasman Sea! 😃

  • laurasmess

    Wow, I’ve never heard of kawakawa before. Found your blog via Seana’s and it’s absolutely gorgeous…. the writing, photography and beautiful recipes! I’m not sure that we can get kawakawa here in Australia (despite living reasonably close to you guys in NZ) but I’ve loved learning about another beneficial plant. Such a shame… sounds like eating kawakawa leaves would be a very happy experience 😉

    • Dolly Rubiano

      Hello there, Laura. Thank you for dropping by. You are as sweet as the cakes you bake! I can just imagine. If I happen to ‘pass by’ where you are I will bring you some dried kawakawa leaves. If your Customs is not as strict as NZ’s.

      • laurasmess

        Aw, unfortunately Australian customs are just as bad, if not worse, than NZ customs and quarantine. It’s ridiculous… even traveling from one Australian state to the next, you need to discard your fresh fruit and vegetables at the border 😦 Hm, I might have to come and visit you instead… I have family in Napier so next time I’m in town I’ll go happy-leaf hunting! Thanks for the sweet suggestion. Would be so lovely to meet you one day and learn more about local NZ foods. Except feijoas. I just can’t get my tastebuds to like those! 🙂

Leave a Reply

