Anything worth doing well is worth doing poorly at first!

Empty plate

Canon 600D, ISO 400, 1/60 sec, f/2.8, 24-70mm

“Anything worth doing well is worth doing poorly at first, and it is often worth doing poorly several times until you master it.” ~ Brian Tracy

DISASTER in the kitchen! No, I’m not talking about the time I almost burned the house while frying tofu. This is about two failed attempts at cooking experiments involving flour and pastry (again).

First I tried to make vegetable tempura from supermarket bought tempura mix and dark beer. I sought advice from my Japanese friend who at one time brought a platter of vegetable tempura to a party. It was a hit and I wanted to recreate it.  A tablespoon of batter for each tempura and a pair of chopsticks are the secret weapon, she said. I missed to ask her about the rest. I ended up with  tempura that were soggy outside and half-cooked inside. The plate for the photo shoot remained empty.

Next I baked/burned a simple chicken and leek pie while preparing to go to work. I had prepared the ingredients the night before and thought it would just be a breeze to bake it the next day. I was too optimistic. I was running out of time and thought I could cheat by increasing the oven temperature to shorten cooking time. As you can see, the  pastry got burned to a crisp. But the filling was not! My friend can attest to its yumminess. I give credit to Amelia at Simple Provisions for the wonderful chicken and leek pie recipe.  That said, the burned pie is all mine, totally!

Burned pastry

Canon 600D, ISO 3200, 1/250 sec, f/2.8, 24-70mm

To redeem myself, I made these perfectly poached eggs the next day. But that’s another story to post.

Perfectly poached eggs

Canon 600D, ISO 200, 1/60 sec, f/2.8, 24-70mm

About Dolly Rubiano

I am passionate about photography and food is my favourite subject. I like shooting people too, especially when they’re not looking. I am a regular contributor as photographer to FishHead magazine, a local lifestyle magazine in Wellington, New Zealand. I blog about my experiments in the kitchen and don't cook anything that has four legs. Please get in touch if you would like to work with me regarding food styling and photography. View all posts by Dolly Rubiano

5 responses to “Anything worth doing well is worth doing poorly at first!

Leave a Reply

