Chicken and herbs sausage rolls

Chicken sausage rolls

Canon 600D, ISO 200, 1/30 sec, f/4, 24-70mm

SAUSAGE ROLLS, an all-time Kiwi favourite. They serve it in the office on occasions where snacks* are provided. [*They call it morning tea or afternoon tea.] Never had one. Because the sausage rolls they serve are either beef or pork. I don’t eat meat from four-legged animals.

I had been on the lookout for sausage rolls that I can eat. But I gave up on that. Since I still have filo pastry sheets left from last week’s attempt to make a crispy crust apple pie, I set out to make my own sausage rolls. I used supermarket-bought chicken sausages and three herbs from my garden – thyme, thai basil and parsley.

Sausage with herbs

Canon 600D, ISO 200, 1/10 sec, f/4, 50mm lens baby

The result was not aesthetically pleasing since the sausages jutted out of the pastry. I don’t know why. Also, the sausages are too firm. I’d rather make my own meat filling next time. So I won’t be posting the recipe because I’m not happy about it. But the photos look great! It is still a feast, for the eyes. Enjoy!

Chicken sausage rolls

Canon 600D, ISO 200, 1/8 sec, f/4, 50mm lens baby

Sausage rolls with thai basil

Canon 600D, ISO 200, 1/30 sec, f/4, 24-70mm

Sausage rolls with sweet chili sauce

Canon 600D, ISO 200, 1/30 sec, f/4, 24-70mm

Sausage rolls with thai basil and sweet chili sauce

Canon 600D, ISO 200, 1/8 sec, f/4, 50mm lens baby

Most of the photos are taken using a Lens Baby Composer which is my boyfriend’s Valentines gift last year. I seldom use that lens because it is manual focus. It takes getting used to but worth the try. Thank you for the lens, baby!

About Dolly Rubiano

I am passionate about photography and food is my favourite subject. I like shooting people too, especially when they’re not looking. I am a regular contributor as photographer to FishHead magazine, a local lifestyle magazine in Wellington, New Zealand. I blog about my experiments in the kitchen and don't cook anything that has four legs. Please get in touch if you would like to work with me regarding food styling and photography. View all posts by Dolly Rubiano

4 responses to “Chicken and herbs sausage rolls

Leave a Reply

