Oh, mighty sprouts!

Roast brussels sprouts

Canon 600D, ISO 400, 1/250 sec, f/3.5, 24-70mm

BRUSSELS SPROUTS are one of my favourite vegetables, but sadly, not everyone adores them. But what is there not to love about brussels sprouts? These mini cabbages have a naughty nutty flavour. And they smell so good when cooked! I helped myself with a piece or two while taking photos. By the time I was done shooting, the plate was almost empty!

I’ve read an article on Jules Clancy’s blog Stonesoup, about simple cooking. It says “The best way to cook brussels sprouts is to roast them“. She shared a Momofuku (a group of award-winning restaurants owned by chef-founder David Chang) recipe that is so simple I was encouraged to try it myself. I just added garlic flavour to the oil and substituted pine nuts with brazil nuts (they’re cheaper).

Roast brussels sprouts

Canon 600D, ISO 400, 1/250 sec, f/3.5, 24-70mm

Diptych blur

Canon 600D, ISO 400, 1/250 sec, f/3.5, 24-70mm

Brussels sprout

Canon 600D, ISO 400, 1/400 sec, f/2.8, 24-70mm

Fish sauce vinaigrette

Canon 600D, ISO 3200, 1/320 sec, f/3.5, 24-70mm

Almost gone!

Canon 600D, ISO 400, 1/250 sec, f/3.5, 24-70mm

Adapted from Jules Clancy’s Stonesoup recipe: Roast brussels sprouts with fish sauce vinaigrette ~ Recipe here

 

About Dolly Rubiano

I am passionate about photography and food is my favourite subject. I like shooting people too, especially when they’re not looking. I am a regular contributor as photographer to FishHead magazine, a local lifestyle magazine in Wellington, New Zealand. I blog about my experiments in the kitchen and don't cook anything that has four legs. Please get in touch if you would like to work with me regarding food styling and photography. View all posts by Dolly Rubiano

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 147 other followers

